Elgeyo-Marakwet County Profile, Government, Economy, Hotels, Location

Elgeyo-Marakwet County Governor, Deputy Governor, Senator, Women Representative, Constituencies, Wards, MCAs, County Assembly

Listed below is the full list of Elgeyo-Marakwet County Governors, Deputy Governors, Senators, County Women Representatives in the National Assembly, MCAs in the Elgeyo-Marakwet County Assembly from the year 2013 when devolution came into place in Kenya.

The table below gives the fine details of this County.

Elgeyo-Marakwet County (County Code 028)

Elgeyo-Marakwet County Governors since 2013

Elgeyo-Marakwet County Governor

2017 – 2022


Governor: Alex Tolgos

(Party: URP in Jubilee Coalition )
Deputy Governor: Wisley Rotich

Iten Town Town,
Elgeyo-Marakwet County,

Elgeyo-Marakwet County Kenya

2013 – 2017

Governor: Alex Tolgos

(Party: Jubilee)
Deputy Governor: Gabriel Lamaon

Elgeyo-Marakwet County Senators since 2013

Elgeyo-Marakwet County Senator

2017 – 2022

Senator: Kipchumba Murkomen

(Party: Jubilee)

2013 – 2017

Senator: Kipchumba Murkomen

Party: URP in Jubilee Coalition

Elgeyo-Marakwet County Women Representatives since 2013

Elgeyo-Marakwet County Women Representative

2017 – 2022

Women Representative: Jane Jepkorir Kiptoo Chebaibai

(Party: Jubilee)

2013 – 2017

Women Representative: Susan Chebet

Party: URP in Jubilee Coalition

Counties bordering Elgeyo-Marakwet County

These are the counties that boarder Elgeyo-Marakwet County
West Pokot County, Trans Nzoia County, Uasin Gishu County, Baringo County

Constituencies in Elgeyo-Marakwet County

These are the constituencies that are located within Elgeyo-Marakwet County
Marakwet East Constituency (Code 147), Marakwet West Constituency (Code 148), Keiyo North Constituency (Code 149), Keiyo South Constituency (Code 150)

Wards in Elgeyo-Marakwet County

These are the wards that are in Elgeyo-Marakwet County
Keiyo North Constituency

1. Kamariny
2. Emsoo
3. Tambach
4. Kapchemutwa

Keiyo South Constituency

1. Kaptarakwa
2. Chepkorio
3. Soy North
4. Soy South
5. Kabiemit
6. Metkei

Marakwet West Constituency

1. Arror
2. Kapsowar
3. Moiben/Kuserwo
4. Cherang'any/Chebororwa
5. Sengwer
6. Lelan

Marakwet East Constituency

1. Embobut/Embulot
2. Endo
3. Sambirir
4. Kapyego

Economic Activities in Elgeyo-Marakwet County

These are the major economic activities in Elgeyo-Marakwet County
Economic activities in the county is characterised by mixed small scale farming and the keeping of cattle for both beef and dairy production. Crop production is mostly done in the highlands.

The county is most notable for its long-standing tradition of producing top athletes who have represented Kenya in many international athletics events.

It is ecologically diverse and is home to a number of forests that are part of the nation’s water towers with seasonal streams that support the development of irrigation and livestock production.

With spectacular views and scenery (home to the Kerio Valley Escarpment, Rimoi Game Reserve and a major sports tourism destination (Iten High altitude training camps) , The county has huge untapped tourism potental.

Investment Opportunities exist in tourism and development of tourist facilities (Sports tourism, eco-lodges and resorts, Sky diving, hiking etc ) exploitation of forest and mineral resources, Horticultural crops development, livestock farming, Education, wholesale and retail and building and construction.

Prominent Personalities in Elgeyo-Marakwet County

These are the major economic activities in Elgeyo-Marakwet County
1. Nicholas Biwott – Former Powerful KANU Government Minister
2. Moses Kiplagat Changwony – Former MD Sasini
3. Julius Kipngetich – Former KWS Director
4. Philip Kiptoo Tunoi – Judge of Supreme Court of Kenya between 2012 – 2016
5. Philip Kipchirchir Murgor – lawyer and Former Director Of Public Prosecution
6. Gladys Boss Shollei – Uasin Gishu County Women Rep
7. William Chebor Murgor – A member of pre-independence legislative council-Legco, and former MP of Keiyo North
8. Lieutenant General Lazaro Kipkurui Sumbeiywo – Former Commandant of the Defence Staff College and Army Commander. Kenya special envoy to the Sudan and south Sudan peace process
9. William Kiprono – Director Kenya wildlife service
10. Kipchumba Murkomen

Accommodation Facilities in Elgeyo-Marakwet County

These are the notable hotels, motels and accommodation facilities in Elgeyo-Marakwet County
1. Kolol Hill Cottage
2. Keellu Resort
3. Belio Guest House

Author: Laban Thua Gachie

Fantastic Links

About Laban Thua Gachie 30968 Articles
I am a proud Kenyan. I have a Bachelors Degree in Communication and Media Technology from Maseno University. I am an Online Content Developer for Kenyanlife.com and Catholicreadings.org. My passion is helping others realize their passions and dreams so that they can live a decent and fulfilling life.